MONSTROUS READ-ALONG – It by Stephen King

It Readalong

I don’t even want to know how long ago Destiny and I decided on a read-along for It. I know some people did this last year -and probably will again this year-, but since I was entirely committed to my monthly challenge back then, I didn’t even consider joining. This year.. This year is different! I’m going to keep myself accountable by hosting this read-along, together with Destiny, which means October will have two challenges.

ItThe other one is my fixed OWNtober-challenge, where I’ll be reading only mostly books I have on my shelves already. With this IT-read-along, I’m actually killing two birds with one stone since this monster has been on my TBR for ages as well.

Anyway! Because It is, like I said, a monster of a book, I’ve put together a bit of a schedule. That way, everybody participating has some extra motivation and you can talk to the other participants if you’ve read until the weekly mark without spoiling each other! I’m not sure how many people will want to join, but if you feel like joining and want to be added to our group chat, let me know! I’ve started one on Twitter already!

As for the schedule

I’ve used my own copy (ISBN 9781444707861) with 1392 pages for this – and made sure the weekly marks are at the end of a chapter. I’ll also include the chapter number for those with different versions!

Start: October 1st
Stop 1:  October 8th at 345 pages – end of chapter 6
Stop 2: October 15th at 738 pages  – end of chapter 11
Stop 3: October 22nd at 1063 pages – end of chapter 18
End: October 31st at 1392 pages

I’m going to try and post on every stop with some of my own thoughts, questions and stuff like that. Feel free to do the same, or simply use the comments to go on an all-out IT-speech/rant!

Honestly.. I’m curious to see whether I’ll make it till the end or not. It’s a huge book and I just know I’ll get distracted by other books as well. Time will tell, I guess.

Have you read IT yet? Do you want to?
Are you going to join this read-along?

Nametag

twitterinstagramgoodreadsfacebookbloglovinamazon

34 thoughts on “MONSTROUS READ-ALONG – It by Stephen King

    1. Haha, I feel you. I’m a HUGE pussy myself so I’m already half-scared to death to read this thing but.. at least I won’t be all alone and have some people to freak out to in the group chat, haha. 😀

      Like

    1. Ooh, yes we are! We’re scared to death [either of the content or the size of this thing] but we’re still doing it, haha.
      Awesome that you’re joining!! 😀 I’m still trying to figure out whether or not to start a group chat somewhere, hah.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have never read IT before! I might not be able to participate because I’ve already had another buddy read planned… but I will definitely read IT in October!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy!!!
    I love this book. Read it on the bus on my way to England 11 years ago when i moved here, so I’ll always have fond memories of it.
    Sounds weird, considering the topic 🤣

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And we all know how long boxes can take to get emptied once you’ve moved.. I’m pretty sure my boyfriend still has two or three boxes stacked away that he still hasn’t unpacked from our move two years ago. 😂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.