Review: Paris Ever After

Review

Paris Ever AfterTITLE: Paris Ever After #2
AUTHOR: K.S.R. Burns

RELEASED: May 1, 2018
PUBLISHER: Velvet Morning Press
FORMAT: Ebook

GENRE: Romance
GOODREADS RATING: 3.68

SYNOPSIS
“Can Amy’s rocky start in Paris turn into a happy ever after?

Amy didn’t realize how stale her life was until she jetted off to Paris without telling a soul—not even her husband—and had the adventure of a lifetime. Now as she tries to establish herself in the City of Light, she finds that despite a fun (and quirky) group of friends and the ability to indulge in French pastries whenever she wants, reinventing her life is much harder than she imagined.

Then on Amy’s thirtieth birthday, two unexpected visitors leave her wondering if she will soon be saying au revoir to Paris and the new life she’s struggled to build. Her estranged husband, Will, shows up—but is he interested in reconciliation or separation? And a young woman who arrives on Amy’s doorstep unleashes chaos that could push Amy out into the street.

As Amy’s Parisian dream starts to fall apart, she must decide: return to the stability of Will and Phoenix (if that’s even still an option) or forge her way forward in Paris? Amid secrets and surprises, set in enchanting gardens, cozy cafés, and glittering Parisian streets, Amy must choose between two very different worlds. And each has a claim on her heart.”

Standaard

You know me by now. I’m a sucker for love stories set in London or Paris – one the city I love, the other the city of love. The reason for picking up Paris Ever After was no different. The title and the cover drew me in and wouldn’t let me go!

The good

First I have to mention that I didn’t know this was the second book in a series so I haven’t read the first book, The Paris Effect. Looking back on my reading experience of Paris Ever After, that’s a good thing because I certainly wouldn’t have read this novel otherwise. [Adding that you don’t need to read the first novel before diving into this one.]
I do want to say that I am still intrigued by the concept, by the idea for this story. I just believe it could’ve been executed better.

The bad

Can you see where this is going? I struggled writing this review because I really don’t want to bash the author at all but Paris Ever After simply wasn’t my cup of tea at all.

The entire story felt very repetitive when it comes to our MC’s – Amy’s – past. I felt like it was said over and over again how it came to be she’s living in Paris. The overall story line was welcome, sure, but at one point it became ridiculous to have the reconfirmation of what had happened over and over again.

Talking about Amy… She got on my nerves quite a lot. She’s supposed to be 30, yet she’s very egocentric and judge-y. She has this tendency of whining and being ridiculously naive to the point of me wanting to bash my head against a wall.
You can easily have a character you don’t like, but this time it totally ruined my reading experience at times and that’s just… wrong. I couldn’t connect with her at all and it’s something I felt is needed when it comes to romance novels like this one. You want to be able to understand their actions, reactions and thoughts but I didn’t.

I said earlier that the setting of a novel in Paris or London is often something that convinces me to pick it up. Usually when romance novels like this one are set in Paris, you can feel the Parisian magic ooze out of the story but in this case? The opposite was true. I didn’t lose myself to its magic at all. Some descriptions almost pulled it off but they didn’t enthrall me as I expected them to.

Apart from that I also got annoyed by all the translations from French to English. I completely realize and accept that’s due to my knowledge of French which made the translations absolutely unnecessary but I still couldn’t help but get annoyed by it. Every French word was translated one way or another and it took away from my enjoyment. Again, I realize this is subjective and is totally my own fault.

Then we have the ending of this novel. Everything felt way too convenient for my liking. Orchestrated, easy and unrealistic are the words to describe my thoughts about the entire novel when I finished reading. I saw every twist and turn coming – even the ones who shouldn’t have been overly obvious. I can’t remember reading any clear foreshadowing, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there was, really.

1It’s been a while since I gave a low rating like this and I hope it won’t happen again soon. I always feel awful about writing reviews like this, but I’m here to give my own opinion on books so that’s what I’m doing.

Munches

30713948_10214840912952966_2427983370781720576_nOne good thing is that I got the excuse to buy myself some madeleines. I wanted to make them myself first, but since I need the right trays for those… Store-bought madeleines it is! They’re delicious although I can imagine homemade ones being way more delicious.

If you think your  opinions would differ from mine, it’s releasing tomorrow, on May 1st. Do let me know how you feel about it once you’ve read it! I’d love to hear someone else’s thoughts on it!

How do you feel about writing negative reviews? Do you struggle with them or are they as easy to write as any other review?

Nametag

twitterinstagramgoodreadsfacebookbloglovinamazon

9 thoughts on “Review: Paris Ever After

  1. Hmm… i don’t like when stuff is way too easy and convenient for the characters. We can agree on that.
    Sometimes when authors write realistic main characters with negative traits i wonder… like how did that fictional person deserve to be the protagonist. At least make them a villain or something 😂

    I like the new theme/design btw

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. I know books like this always get the happy ending, but that doesn’t mean it has to be easy to get there and just be like “oh, here are all the pieces and NOW we’re throwing them together in that one chapter and tada, problems solved!”

      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Negative reviews are so much harder to write because we’re super aware of the words we’re using and how we’re putting it. We want to be constructive but still get our message across. It’s just so easy to misunderstand when something is being criticised. For example, something as simple as “You look better in blue” can elicit a response like “Oh, so I should reconstruct my wardrobe just because you think I look better wearing a certain colour?”

    Kind of an extreme and silly example, I know, but that’s all book blogging is about: Sharing opinions. It’s because of this that writing reviews on a book we’ve rated low is more difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! It’s hard criticizing something you know someone poured their heart in. I know I had a rough time when someone reviewed my blog. Any criticism simply goes straight to the heart even though you know they do it with all the best intentions – at least in most cases.

      It might be an extreme example but it shows exactly what a review can do! It isn’t because I didn’t like certain things that someone else isn’t going to love them, after all.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.