Review: The Raven Cycle #2 – #4 by Maggie Stiefvater

Hi Munchworms!

I finally finished The Raven Cycle! I’ve jotted down some of my thoughts every time after finishing an installment, but I’ll have my general opinion at the end!


Secrets and cockroaches – that’s what will be left at the end of it all.


The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)Since I read The Raven Boys, I had to think about Ronan quite a bit. For some reason he was the character that stuck with me, intriguing me even when I was reading completely different books. Noticing that The Dream Thieves was practically “his” book… Let’s just say it was a fun thing to discover!

Even though I had a hard time getting into this sequel – damn you, Warcross-hangover – I did end up enjoying it – mostly because of Ronan, haha. I’m also getting used to Maggie’s writing style more and more, so I’m definitely curious about the sequels!


He was attracted to her like a heart attack.


Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)If there’s one thing Maggie’s good at, it’s cliffhangers! I was honestly relieved that I already owned all books, which made it a lot easier to jump from one installment to the next.

Even though I was somehow less invested in Blue Lily, Lily Blue, I still enjoyed reading it. The only thing that kind of backfired was the huge Ronan-amount I got in The Dream Thieves. It made this book seem so.. Ronan-less..


“While I’m gone,” Gansey said, pausing, “dream me the world. Something new for every night.”


The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)Before I actually started The Raven King, I had realized that… Even though I was enjoying these books, I could enjoy them more. Okay, let me explain…
Do you ever have that feeling of being still too invested in a previous book you read? Which makes it so hard to pick up other books and lose yourself in those? Even though you really are enjoying them but that nagging feeling of “I could enjoy this more” keeps popping up?
That’s exactly what I head when reading all these sequels!
For some amazing unknown reason, The Raven King cured that! All of a sudden I was simply gone. Lost in Cabeswater, lost in the world of Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam and Noah. God, how I love Ronan. Can’t help it.


Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.


All in all, I think I can say I loved The Raven Cycle but I’ll definitely have to reread them one day. I have that inkling feeling that when I do, I’ll love them more, adore them and give them a special place in my heart.
Maggie’s writing took some time for me to get used to. She has a slow but steady pace that’s present throughout all these books and, me being used to some more fast-paced novels, it took some time to appreciate it!

I’m going to give The Raven Cycle a 4 / 5 in general, with the hope that one day I’ll say it deserves to get 5 / 5.

As for the munches? Let’s just say that I couldn’t get The Raven Boys’ guacamole out of my head so I’m sticking with that, haha.


Don’t forget the Christmas Card Exchange, people!!

Kathy

 twitter-2-64x64downloadSocial-Networks-Instagram-iconif_goodreads_287723Facebook-icon

15 thoughts on “Review: The Raven Cycle #2 – #4 by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I am so happy you enjoyed them! I read them early last year and I fell in love with them straight away. They instantly became one of my favourite series of all time. Such a beautiful story. And I have been wanted to reread for a few months but I just haven’t got to them again yet.

    And yes RONAN IS EVERYTHING! I am so excited for the Ronan Trilogy Maggie is writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have that feeling that I’ll end up falling in love with them if I reread them sometime. But that won’t be for a while now, haha. Which reminds me that I should add rereading them to my 2018 challenge. Yup. Doing that!

      A whole trilogy on Ronan sounds.. *drool*

      Like

  2. Great reviews 🙂 I loved the series overall and think once I had finished all books, I actually ended up loving them more after having had time to let the dust settle… Like you, I think I may find myself rereading these books in the future and I hardly ever reread… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I have to admit that I’ve been appreciating them more than I did at first as well. I don’t usually reread either – except for Harry Potter of course, haha – but I’m definitely thinking about rereading these. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.