Review: The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger

Hi Munchworms!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the inevitable collision of birdie & bashToday’s review is about The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash. A book written by Candace Ganger.

When I was creating my “List of most anticipated books” earlier in June, this was one of the books that was on it! A little later, when I found NetGalley, I discovered there were e-ARC’s available for this book.
Even though I’m only a beginning blogger, I just thought “what the hell” and requested it.

So of course, I’m saying a huge thank you to Candace Ganger, St. Martin’s Press and – naturally – to NetGalley to give me this opportunity. I couldn’t be more excited about reading this book!

Birdie never meant to be at the party. Bash should have been long gone. But when they meet, a collision course is set off they may never recover from.

Sebastian Alvaréz is just trying to hold the pieces together: to not flunk out, to keep his sort-of-best friend Wild Kyle from doing something really bad, and to see his beloved Ma through chemo. But when he meets Birdie Paxton, a near-Valedictorian who doesn’t realize she’s smoking hot in her science pun T-shirt, at a party, an undeniable attraction sparks. And suddenly he’s not worried about anything. But before they are able to exchange numbers, they are pulled apart. A horrifying tragedy soon links Birdie and Bash together—but neither knows it. When they finally reconnect, and are starting to fall—hard—the events of the tragedy unfold, changing both their lives in ways they can never undo.

The cover isn’t one I’d normally go for when browsing in a bookstore, but somehow it did appeal to me and I wanted to know what it’s about. Reading the synopsis of the book, I got curious. Two teenagers out of different worlds colliding with each other and, in some way, getting their lives strangled? Yup, count me in!

What did I say? That they got strangled into each other’s lives? Let’s do that again. They collided. Just like the title of the book says. They collided with such an enormous bang that they could never tear each other from one another again. They became part of the other because of the tragedy that bound them.

The unhappy truth is, reality is, people cheat and lie, keep secrets, and leave. Because it’s human nature.

Candace Ganger has written The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash so realistically. Bash’s character, his rough edges – including language – are implemented perfectly. Together with Birdie’s nature of always using her brain, neglecting her heart and using sheer logic to find her way through life… Let’s just say, you’ll really want to pick this one up.

The lives of Birdie and Bash are twisted and turned into one another, yet you follow their lives separately. The tragedy that links them isn’t one that forces them together immediately. They deal with it themselves, in their own way, unconsciously supporting one another in the process.

The story is built up nicely. You completely lose yourself in everything that’s happening. It’s not one of those sappy teenage romances you can find everywhere. It’s unique. It’s despair. It’s hope. It’s friendship. It’s frustration. It’s love. It’s heartbreak. All in one story.

No need to say that I’m giving The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger a well-deserved 5/5.

19858835_10212426769800896_1608479652_nWhen thinking about what munches I would link to this book, the only thing I kept thinking is that it should be some kind of comfort food. With all the emotions whirling and turning and flying around… Honestly, if I’d be in that book, I’d be in desperate need for comfort food. So, spaghetti carbonara it is! This might not count as comfort food for you, but pasta has always been my go-to-meal and it’ll always be that way, haha. Plus it was the first time I made carbonara and it was actually – to my huge surprise – delicious!

Oh, and so you know: The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger is being published July 25th, which is one week from now! Don’t forget to pre-order your copy! [Amazon]

For those of you who haven’t voted it, check out my blog for the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon here and vote for the book you want me to read [and review]!

Good-bye, sweet bear.

Kathy

This book was provided to me through my accepted request on NetGalley. This is my honest review for which I'm not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.
The picture of the cover I used at the beginning of my blog, is the picture I found on Google Image. I claim no rights to this picture whatsoever.

9 thoughts on “Review: The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger

  1. Yeah I completely agree the cover didn’t really catch my eye not like the title did. Wow your review was SO GOOD! I’m really curious to find out what brought them together. From the way you described it, this book has everything I didn’t know I needed. My comfort food changes from book to book or depends on whatever I have in the house at the time ha ha. Spinach Pasta is probably one of my favorites.💚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youuu!
      You should totally read it; I really enjoyed this book! Read like a freight train as well, haha.
      Most of the time I pick a dish that I ate not that long ago and seems fitting but sometimes I just go “Yes, that would fit. So now I have to make that and actually take a picture of it for once.” [I don’t even want to know how many times my food got cold because of it.]
      I love all things pasta!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

