TTT: Favorite book quotes

Hi Munchworms!

Yes, it’s my second post today, but it’s Tuesday! And that means it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday!

Since The Broke and the Bookish are on a hiatus until August, I decided to have my own TTT once more. At first, I wanted to have a babbling session with ten small subjects, but I noticed I was capable of almost writing an entire book. So I kind of scratched that idea – for now.
Instead, I went back to the old TTT’s of The Broke and the Bookish. Today, you’ll be introduced to… Some of my favorite book quotes!

I’m trying to put some diversity in here, so the quotes I’m using can be intense or just funny or made me think about my life. You’ll probably know as you read along.

Enjoy!

Naamloos

When you love someone, they become a part of who you are. They’re in everything you do. They’re in the air you breathe and the water you drink and the blood in your veins. Their touch stays on your skin and their voice stays in your ears and their thoughts  stay in your mind. You know their dreams cause their nightmares pierce your heart and their good dreams are your dreams too. And you don’t think they’re perfect, but you know their flaws, the deep-down truth of them, and the shadows of all their secrets, and they don’t frighten you away; in fact you love them more for it, because you don’t want perfect. You want them.

~ Lady Midnight, Cassandra Clare

The first one, immediately a big one. Big as in a lot of words, big as in such a huge meaning. I reread it several times before I thought “Why am I rereading this? I have to write this down somewhere!”

We go on our hands and knees and go crawling towards the truth.

~ Atonement, Ian McEwan

And now, for a funny one:

She glanced at the little fires across the room. Then she looked back at Richard. She smiled again. “Do you like cat?” she said. “Yes,” said Richard. “I quite like cats.”
Anaesthesia looked relieved. “Thigh?” she asked. “Or breast?”

~ Neverwhere, Neil Gaiman

I really couldn’t stop laughing when I read this. Am I the only one who thinks it’s funny?

It’s better to accept that if you have a good 80 per cent, then you just have to put up with the 20 per cent bad, rather than waiting for the 100 per cent good, and maybe ending up with nothing.

~ Men on the Menu, Bambi Smyth

There’s so much truth in this one! When you’re in a relationship, you just have to accept that your partner has some flaws, as do you. We’re human, after all.

As I turned and looked back toward the hotel I noticed that my footprints leading out into the city were mismatched. One side was glistening, small and white. The other was misshapen from my limp and each heel was pooled with spots of bright red blood. It struck me as a metaphor for my life. One side light and magical. Always seeing the good. Lucky. The other side bloodied, stumbling. Never quite able to keep up.

~ Furiously Happy, Jenny Lawson

I thought this was a beautiful metaphor, so of course I had to write it down as well.

She wondered what it would be like to be a normal person. To be able to expect that mornings like this – waking up with someone you’d chosen – would happen over and over again. To get through the day certain that you’d lie back down at the end of it in the same bed, with that same person next to you. She doubted many people appreciated that certainty when they had it. It would be too much a part of everyday life to them, taken for granted, not something they would think of feeling grateful for.

~ The Chemist, Stephenie Meyer

This quote I wrote down because Stephenie Meyer nails it. How many “stupid, little” things do we take for granted? Things that others can only dream of? Just having that cup of coffee or tea every morning. Being able to put sugar in it! Or milk?! Those already are three different things you could be grateful for, appreciate more.

Sometimes you do things for the right reasons and sometimes for the wrong ones and sometimes it’s impossible to tell the difference.
Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.

~ Everything, Everything, Nicola Yoon

You make your own choices and this is a good reminder of that. You decide whether to go for something or just sit back and do nothing. Whatever the outcome, it was your decision. You might regret it, but what if you don’t? What if it turns into something beautiful?

She ground her teeth together, forcing a smile, aware her strong personality rubbed some the wrong way, and yet she didn’t try to be offensive, she just wanted to be herself. But people loved having opinions and they loved to judge.

~ Married in Montana, Jane Porter

This one, as well as the next one, just shows that you just have to be yourself. Be how you want to be, feel what you want and need to feel. If people don’t understand you? Let them. The important ones, the ones close to you, they will. And if they don’t, they’ll at least try to.

“And what we learn through sharing our memories and our sadnesses and our little victories with each other is that it’s okay to feel sad. Or lost. Or angry. It’s okay to feel a whole host of things that other people might not understand, and often for a long time. Everyone has his or her own journey.”

~ After You, Jojo Moyes

And I’m going to end this TTT on another funny note. This was just so… Lame… That I thought it was hilarious…

“Wow,” Thalia muttered. “Apollo is hot.”
“He’s the sun god,” I said.
“That’s not what I meant.”

~ Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Rick Riordan

I hope you enjoyed these quotes as much as I did – especially when rereading them now. Any of these quotes that grabbed you? Or made you curious for the book? Let me know!

Kathy

I claim no rights to all quotes used in this post. Those belong to the authors of the books mentioned beneath each quote.
8 thoughts on “TTT: Favorite book quotes

Leave a Reply

