Review: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

Hi Munchworms!

19850701_10212458605676773_1374546696_oAs you can see, I read a pretty “old” book this time. Old, but gold; isn’t that what they say?
I have to admit I never read it before. I haven’t even seen the movie! And of course, this made it so tempting to start this book.

Okay, no. That’s a lie. The reason I started this book? I just finished After You and had to leave for work. My bag was stuffed with all my necessities – more than usual – so I barely had any place left to take a book. I know! Horror!
Because of that, I just picked the smallest book I saw. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.

When looking at the cover, I really don’t get what a girl in a boat has to do with a title as The Notebook. Safe to say I was curious to find out what the link is all about.

North Carolina, October 1946. Noah Calhoun has recently returned from war: he tries to forget the horrors he has seen and experienced by restoring an old plantation home. But though his days are spent working, his nights too often give way to dreams of his past.

Fourteen years ago, Noah fell in love with a girl, and he is still haunted by her memory but convinced he will never find her again. But when the past slips into the present, Noah realizes his ghosts are never far away.

Okay, the blurb at least explains the girl. Still doesn’t explains the boat, though! But that got explained in the book, so yay! The cover fits the book!
I really hate those covers that actually don’t have much to do with the book – can’t think of one immediately though…

I just have to start this review by saying how wonderful and beautiful and amazing this story is. I’ve enjoyed it with every fiber of my body and, yes, I’ve cried like a baby while reading it. I literally had to stop two or three times because I just couldn’t even read anymore. Too many tears.

Nicholas Sparks wrote this story in a really simple, straightforward manner which makes it easy and quick to read. The story is told from both Noah’s as Allie’s perspective, a necessity to grasp all the feelings that are tumbling around.

At first I felt the love Sparks describes is a little over the top, but as I kept reading it started feeling right. As if there really could be a love as great as that in this world. Maybe there is, maybe there isn’t. But wouldn’t it be absolutely beautiful if it exists?

“My daddy used to tell me that the first time you fall in love, it changes your life forever, and no matter how hard you try, the feelin’ never goes away. This girl you been tellin’ me about was your first love. and no matter what you do, she’ll stay with you forever.”

The only thing I got a little annoyed by, is that there were too little separate paragraphs, if you know what I mean. I usually read on until I get to the end of a paragraph so I can easily read on later. Sometimes those paragraphs were half a chapter – and the chapters are huge. But that’s just a minor annoyance I had.

I wish I could make this review longer, since it really deserves that, but I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you who haven’t read The Notebook yet.

If you’re in for a good cry, want to try to grasp what love can be about and if you want that beautiful, tender love oozing out of pages… Just pick up this book and start reading. I know you won’t regret it.

“In times of grief and sorrow I will hold and rock you, and take your grief and make it my own. When you cry, I cry, and when you hurt, I hurt. And together we will try to hold back the floods of tears and despair and make it through the potholed streets of life.”

Just make sure you have some tissues at hand.

I’m not adding munches to this, simply because a nice cup of tea is doing the trick! Specifically, the Warriors & Legends tea – jasmine and lychee – that was in May’s FairyLoot box! Created by The Tea Leaf Co.

4,5/5

And I just have to add this: I finished the book, started writing my review and then suddenly there it was! The trailer of the Notebook on television, claiming it was going to air Thursday evening. So… Guess who recorded it and is going to take her box of tissues in the near future? I love myself some Ryan Gosling.

Kathy

I bought this book secondhand and this is my honest review for which I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.

10 thoughts on “Review: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Oh my… I never read the book but I did watch the movie… some 10-11 years ago (gosh, time flies!) and I remember bawling my eyes out for 2 hours after the film had ended… like proper fugly cry 😀 my housemates thought someone had died but this plot and the beautifulness and the ending! It just hits you!
    Great review… I don’t think i’ll be reading the book… no more trauma needed 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a sucker for Nicholas Sparks novels, and I really loved The Notebook too. My favourite is The Lucky One and I highly recommend it if you decide you would like to read more by Nicholas Sparks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll probably be reading more of him in the future! First have another stack of books to go through before I can do that though, haha.
      [And I think there were two more Sparks books on their way, but I’m not sure anymore. Whoops.]

      Like

  3. Nicholas Sparks books aren’t really my type haha, it’s a bit too angsty than I usually like for my romances. 😛 That’s why I mainly stick to romcoms when it comes to these! But I did watch The Notebook years ago when the movie recently came out and thought it was really emotional and romantic. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve watched half the movie (was too tired to continue, haha), and I’m just simply liking it because of Ryan Gosling. Could’ve been any story, really. Ryan Gosling makes everything better, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

