Review: Married in Montana by Jane Porter

Hi Munchworms!

MarriedInMontana-LARGE-1-300x450Ever since I started blogging, I’ve been looking for ways to give you reviews of more recent books. Books that have been published not so long ago and that deserve to have some attention.
During this research, I stumbled upon LibraryThing and joined the Early Reviewers Community. What is that?
Well, each month there’s a batch of books that are offered to be reviewed. As a member of the Early Reviewers, you can request the books you like and at the end of the month you’ll know whether or not you got lucky!

I was really happy when I found out that one of my requests got accepted on my first try. Receiving Married in Montana by Jane Porter made my day.
So I’d really like to thank LibraryThing for giving bloggers the opportunity to read books that are newly released or haven’t even been released yet! Of course I also want to thank Jane Porter and Michelle Moris, who sent me the link to the eBook. I really am grateful to have gotten this opportunity.

Married by Montana is the second novel in the Paradise Valley Ranch series and was published June 29th. No stress, you can easily read the novels separately since I haven’t read the first novel yet either.

Beautiful, spirited, Texas born Ellie Burnett needs a husband. Fast. Her father, rancher Archibald Burnett, is dying, and she’s determined to marry to protect the ranch and preserve her father’s legacy in Montana’s rugged Paradise Valley. The trouble is, she wants to wear the boots in the family and the man she has in mind, Irishman Thomas Sheenan would never stand for that.

Independent and taciturn Thomas Sheenan isn’t looking for a wife, having spent far too much of his life taking care of others. He’s come to Montana to carve out his own identity, and be his own man. The last thing he needs is a headstrong bride, but when Ellie approaches him with the offer of a lifetime, he can’t refuse.

Thomas didn’t anticipate falling for his new bride. He moved to Montana to stake his claim…he never planned on losing his heart.

The reason I requested this book is because I recognized some of myself in Ellie – just by reading the blurb! I’m very independent myself and I would never, ever submit to a man, give up my own choices and free will. Let alone be a housewife that does nothing else but looking after her family. I like doing my own thing, my own way.
Knowing this, I was convinced this would be a book very much to my liking.

The cover of this book also played a part in that decision. It looks simple, romantic and couldn’t fit the title more. To tell you the truth, I was completely in the mood for some romance! And romance I got, that I can tell you.

Set in the late 1800’s, Ellie’s character is out of the ordinary. She’s a free-spirited girl who lives impulsively, does what she likes and says whatever she likes. No sugar-coating. No trying to be like the norm of that time and become a charming housewife.
Add to that a dash of dark, brooding, mysterious and handsome with the name Thomas Sheenan, a man who knows what he wants and how to get it. Putting these two together, fireworks are bound to go all over the place.

I could connect with Ellie on a couple of levels. I’m a bold, impulsive and straightforward person. I tend to say what I’m thinking, even when it’s probably going to come out all wrong. I don’t mind what people think of me either. I just want to do my thing and enjoy my life. And I felt that Ellie was the same on all those accounts.

She ground her teeth together, forcing a smile, aware her strong personality rubbed some the wrong way, and yet she didn’t try to be offensive, she just wanted to be herself. But people loved having opinions and they loved to judge.

But I didn’t see eye to eye with Ellie on everything. She seemed like such a strong-minded, confident person. At least before she started begging – pretty out of the blue, in my opinion – to Thomas for his help. I thought she’d put more effort into finding other solutions first, trying other ways to save her father’s legacy, the ranch.

Jane Porter’s writing style was fluent to say the least. I actually read this book in a couple of hours, walking around with my phone – I’m still desperately waiting for my Kindle to arrive – while doing chores or just moving from one reading spot to the other. I didn’t want to stop reading. Just couldn’t either.
I was completely and utterly lost in the romance Porter created by putting two head-strong characters together and watching the passion unfold.

IMG_0540As for the munches – yes, I’m adding munches to this book! – I’m throwing my spicy goulash in the mix. Funny how food keeps popping up in my mind while reading and the goulash I made yesterday seems perfect for Married in Montana. A homemade, cozy meal with a good amount of heat and spice to make it really interesting. Yup, sounds about right!

I really enjoyed the story, but just felt like sometimes things progressed just a tad too quickly. If the relationship between Ellie and Thomas would’ve developed a little more slowly, letting that sexual tension build up some more before walls began to crumble… That would’ve made it perfect for me!

Apart from that, I really loved this book and recommend it to anyone who loves romance with a sensual spin to it or feels like a quick, light read.

This book is getting a 4/5! And I’m definitely going to take a closer look to her other books – she has plenty! – and add them to my TBR.

Kathy

 

I won this book by joining the Early Reviewers Community on LibraryThing and participating to June's batch of books. This is my honest review for which I am not being compensated in any way.
The picture of the cover I used, I found on Google. This since I only have an eBook in my possession. I claim no rights to this picture whatsoever.

3 thoughts on “Review: Married in Montana by Jane Porter

Leave a Reply

