Mini review: The Shining – Stephen King

Hi Munchworms!

pic 1

I wasn’t originally planning on doing a review for The Shining by Stephen King, but this book has been on my mind ever since I read it. And in a good way!
Though I have to admit that it was in a bad way while reading it. Paranoia all the way!

No. Seriously. I think The Shining is worth writing a blog about, even though it’s been published in 1977. Which means: Happy 40th Bookbirthday!

 

As I mentioned before, I always stuck with fantasy before I started my reading challenge. The Shining is one of those books that I would never have read if it wasn’t for that. And what a pearl it is. My entire life I’ve absolutely hated anything that had to do with horror. All thanks to a scene in a movie I once saw as a little girl, where a little kid was eaten by a tree. Really, that stuff marks you for life.
But I found the courage to use The Shining as for my prompt “Book that is set in a hotel.” and that seemed the obvious choice. I’ve never really heard any negativity concerning books Stephen King has written. Also, I felt like challenging myself. With horror. And boy, did I…

Danny is only five years old but in the words of old Mr Hallorann he is a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father becomes caretaker of the Overlook Hotel, Danny’s visions grow out of control.

As winter closes in and blizzards cut them off, the hotel seems to develop a life of its own. It is meant to be empty. So who is the lady in room 217 and who are the masked guests going up and down in the elevator? And why do the hedges shaped like animals seem so alive?

Somewhere, somehow, there is an evil force in the hotel – and that too is beginning to shine…

Sleepless nights? Check.
Paranoia when walking outside – especially with animal-shaped hedges around? Check.
Practically throwing the book away from me while reading? Double check.

And yet, I couldn’t stop reading. I wanted to continue. Stephen King succeeded in sucking me right into the Overlook Hotel, into the lives of the Torrances and into all the horrors that lived with them during their stay in the hotel.

“Wendy? Darling? Light, of my life. I’m not gonna hurt ya. I’m just going to bash your brains in.”

The way he writes is just… Absolutely amazing. I only realized later on that King gives you tons of information about past events in the Torrances’ lives, without the story itself really progressing. If you haven’t read anything of Stephen King yet, you’re probably thinking ‘that sounds annoying and boring’. Well, it may sound like that, but it sure as hell isn’t!
He does it in a manner that only compliments the story. It makes you crawl deeper and deeper until there’s no going back and you just have to read more and more. With some book-throwing following that, of course.

“Sometimes human places, create inhuman monsters.”

I haven’t read any of his other books yet, but It, Under the Dome, Insomnia and Carrie already have a spot on one of my TBR bookshelves.

If you’ve never read anything of Stephen King, I suggest you put one of his books on your TBR! [Maybe The Shining?] It doesn’t matter if you’ve read any of his books before or if it’s your ‘general’ genre to read. I’d just love to hear your opinion about his books and the way he writes.

For the people who already read more of his books: do all his books feel like this? Is this his way of writing or was that only the case in The Shining? Let me know!

For good measure: Yes, this gets a definite 5/5.

Kathy

I paid full-price for this book and this is my honest review for which I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.
6 thoughts on “Mini review: The Shining – Stephen King

      1. The advantage of reading it, is that you can just put it away for a while if it’s freaking you out! I have to admit I did it a couple of times myself. Pretty sure I wouldn’t have finished it if I didn’t take a break sometimes.

        Like

      2. very true, I haven’t read much horror but on the whole the ones I have have been less of a problem than scary movies. Reading is so much more of an active process that we do have more control.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

